Cooperation with European Standards Organizations

Cooperation with European Standards Organizations

The PKN is a member of the CEN – European Committee for Standardization (including the ECISS – European Committee for Iron and Steel Standardization), and the CENELEC – European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization; it also contributes to the ETSI – European Telecommunications Standards Institute as a national standards organization.

Cooperation with the CEN and CENELEC

Since 1 January 2004, the PKN has been a member of the CEN and CENELEC, which gives Polish stakeholders the opportunity to participate in the development of the European Standards. These standards are one of the bases for the functioning of the single market, and they are an important tool for elimination of barriers to trade.

CENwww.jpgCEN - European Committee for Standardization is a private non-profit association incorporated under the laws of Belgium, based in Brussels. Its basic objective is to develop, adopt and disseminate the European Standards and other standardization documents in all areas of economic activity except electrotechnical engineering, electronics and telecommunications.

The members and partners of the European Committee for Standardization are national standardization bodies from the EU and EFTA states, Turkey and Republic of North Macedonia. Polish Committee for Standardization (PKN) acquired a full membership of the CEN on 1 January 2004.

CENELEC_www.jpgCENELEC - European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization is a private non-profit association incorporated under the laws of Belgium, based in Brussels.

The CENELEC’s mission is to prepare voluntary standards in the field of electrotechnical engineering and electronics in order to support the development of a Single European Market/the European Economic Area in the area of electrotechnical and electronic goods and services. Its members are national electrotechnical committees from the EU and EFTA states, Turkey and Republic of North Macedonia.


Rights and obligations of a CEN and CENELEC member:

  • to represent national stakeholders in the organizations’ governing and executive bodies;
  • to participate in all works at the technical level – to propose experts (WGs), delegates (TC SCs) for technical bodies;
  • to operate technical body secretariats;
  • to develop and present a national point of view on drafts of the standards (a public enquiry and voting);
  • to implement all European Standards in the body of national standards (including withdrawal of conflicting standards) and to disseminate such standards;
  • to introduce standstill in the works at the national level.


Cooperation with ETSI

PKN is a signatory of the NSO Agreement under which it acts as an ETSI national standards organization (ETSI/NSO). An ETSI/NSO is responsible for holding a public enquiry and voting on drafts of the European Standards from the telecommunications series, and to transpose ETSI-prepared European Standards nationally. The same organization may combine the status of a member with that of an ETSI/NSO. An ETSI/NSO which is not an ETSI member may not participate in technical works, but it may participate in meetings of decision-making bodies as an observer.

ETSIwww.jpgETSI - European Telecommunications Standards Institute is a private non-profit association incorporated under the laws of France, based in Sophia-Antipolis, France. It is composed of institutions dealing with the development of telecommunications-related European Standards from countries participating in the works of the European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations. The ETSI, through international cooperation, fulfills the objective of preparing standardization documents for global application, addressing the needs of the telecommunications and electronic communications communities, and at the same time it fulfills its basic objective, which is to support regulations and initiatives of the European Union and the EFTA. The ETSI participated in defining standards such as DECT, GSM, TETRA, MHP, CSA.